Armbrust select for State Academy of Sciences

The Washington State Academy of Sciences has named 37 new members, 26 of them from the University of Washington, in recognition of distinguished and continuing scientific achievements.

The new members, announced Aug. 1, will be inducted into the academy at its annual meeting Sept. 20 at the Museum of Flight in Seattle. The new selections bring the total of active members to 184.

Those from the UW named to the state academy by virtue of their election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering or Institute of Medicine are James Bardeen and Ann Nelson, physics; Earl Davie, biochemistry; Evan Eichler, genome sciences; and Dennis P. Lettenmaier and David Stahl, civil and environmental engineering.

Those from the UW elected by the Washington State Academy of Sciences membership are E. Virginia Armbrust, oceanography; Cathryn Booth-LaForce, family and child nursing; Provost Ana Mari Cauce, psychology; Charles Chavkin, pharmacology; Larry Dalton, chemistry; Thomas Daniel, Michael Dickinson and Keiko Torii, biology; Michael Gelb, chemistry and biochemistry; Karen Goldberg, chemistry; Blayne Heckel, physics; Clifford Mass, atmospheric sciences; Pamela Mitchell, nursing; Charles Murry, pathology, bioengineering and medicine; Robert Plotnick, Evans School of Public Affairs; James Riley, mechanical engineering, applied mathematics; David Takeuchi, social work; Engelberta Thompson, health services; Leung Tsang, electrical engineering; and Gunther Uhlmann, mathematics.

The state Academy of Sciences provides expert analysis to public policy makers and works to increase the role and visibility of science in the state.