Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Graduates of 2019

The School of Oceanography is committed to cultivating an equitable and inclusive environment for all current and future members of the Oceanography community. We believe diversity is essential to achieving excellence in research and teaching, and thus we strive to create a community where people of all backgrounds feel welcome.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee:

The School of Oceanography Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee is made up of 6 core members, including faculty, staff, and graduate students. Additional members can be added for specific tasks (denoted with a * below). The committee provides recommendations to the Director and the Faculty Council on ways to increase equity and inclusion and promote diversity in our department. 

2019-2020 members:

LuAnne Thompson - Chair

Mikelle Nuwer - Co-Chair

John Baross

Angie Boysen

Randie Bundy

Kimberly Gottschalk

Rick Rupan

Mark Warner *

Our efforts are part of efforts at many levels at UW:

Diversity at the College

Diversity at the University


GOMAP: Graduate Opportunities and Minority Achievement Program

GOMAP Student Resources: Supporting graduate students of color at the UW

SACNAS: Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science

LSAMP: Pacific Northwest Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation

Disability Resources at the UW

Resources for current UW students

College of the Environment resources for current students


UW College of the Environment DEI Events